Noob here..

Discuss the world of digital signage and offer suggestions about new features for Noventri Suite.
Linksesc
Forum Visitor
Forum Visitor

Noob here..

Post by Linksesc »

Hi there, I have looked through the documentation and I cannot find a solution to my problem.

Now I may be doing things completely wrong here so please tell me if I am!

I have Noventri suite installed on my office PC, and I have Noventri Server installed on a laptop that is linked up to a flatscreen display. Is this a valid configuration?

I want to be able to edit the content on my pc, and then publish it to play on the laptop, and in turn, the display. I do not have a physical Noventri player, but I read that you can use a computer as a player. This is what I am trying to achieve.

I have synchronized the suite with the server, and set the working directory as the same one on both the suite and the server, but when I try to access the server user interface, it just comes back up with the box to set the working directory and nothing else. Also when I click Apply to set the directory, it succeeds and just does nothing else.

How do I make the laptop start playing the content? I am so confused and I haven't found any useful guide on how to work with this configuration.

Please tell me if I am trying to do something that is impossible.

Thanks in advance, I hope my post doesn't annoy anyone!

Billy
Andrew H
Noventri Digital Signage Expert

Re: Noob here..

Post by Andrew H »

Hello Billy,

Thanks for downloading and using our software.

You can use the Noventri Suite software as stand-alone digital signage software without the use of the SF-100e appliance, but there are some limitations. One of them is remote publishing, which can only work with the SF-100e appliance.

To use your laptop as a digital signage player with our Noventri Suite software, you will have to edit the content on the laptop/player and hit the play button in the Edit Sequence section in the Design tab.